Studying Years 11 and 12 in an Extension School

From 2015, a large number of local high schools have been providing Years 11 and 12 to students. This is about giving you more choice about where you want to study – for many students and their families, it is important that they are able to access Year 11 and 12 close to home.

Colleges and Extension Schools work together to ensure they meet your individual needs. From 2018, a number of schools around the state are offering Years 11 and 12. Please contact these schools via the School Directory to express your interest in studying Years 11 and 12 at your local school.

Tasmanian extension school and college courses meet the learning and training needs of all learners by:

  • delivering the Tasmanian Certificate of Education
  • preparing learners for further study in the vocational education and training (VET) sector or higher education sector (university or college)
  • preparing learners for employment in an apprenticeship or traineeship
  • delivering vocational education and training courses
  • supporting Australian School-based Apprenticeships and Traineeships
  • delivering selected university subjects


Extension Schools


Burnie High School
Devonport High School
King Island District High School
Latrobe High School
Mountain Heights School
Parklands High School
Penguin District School
Reece High School
Rosebery District School
North West Support School
Sheffield School
Smithton High School
Ulverstone Secondary College
Wynyard High School
Yolla District High School


Bayview Secondary College
Bothwell District High School
Campania District School
Clarence High School
Cosgrove High School
Dover District School – in partnership with Huonville High School
Glenora District School – in partnership with New Norfolk High School
Huonville High School
JRLF – Senior School
Kingston High School
Montrose Bay High School
New Norfolk High School
New Town High School
Oatlands District High School
Ogilvie High School
Rose Bay High School
Sorell School
Southern Support School
Tasman District School
Tasmanian eSchool
Triabunna District School
Woodbridge School


Ashley School
Brooks High School
Campbell Town District High School
Cressy District High School
Deloraine High School
Exeter High School
Flinders Island District High School
Kings Meadows High School
Launceston Big Picture School
Lilydale District School
Northern Support School
Port Dalrymple School
Prospect High School
Queechy High School
Riverside High School
Scottsdale High School
St Helens District High School
St Marys District School
Winnaleah District High School – in partnership with Scottsdale High School


To accommodate these extensions, the following collectives have been established:


teggana Bayview Secondary College, Campania District School, Clarence High School, Rose Bay High School, Rosny College, Sorell School, Tasman District School and Triabunna District School.


Northern Urban Collective – Brooks High School, Exeter High School, Kings Meadows High School, Launceston Big Picture School, Launceston College, Lilydale District School, Newstead College, Prospect High School, Queechy High School, Riverside High School.


Hellyer Regional Collective Burnie High School, Hellyer College, King Island District High School, Mountain Heights School, Parklands High School, Penguin District School, Rosebery District School, Smithton High School, Wynyard High School, Yolla District High School.


Mersey Leven Collective – Devonport High School, Don College, Latrobe High School, Reece High School, Sheffield School, Ulverstone Secondary College.


Derwent Collective – Bothwell District High School, Cosgrove High School, Glenora District School, Jordan River Learning Federation Senior School, Montrose Bay High School, New Norfolk High School, Oatlands District High School.